Bears-Packers preview with Tony the Packers Fan, 2010 edition

Tony the Packers Fan, seen here firing off a pass in front of Jack M Silverstein.

It was a crazy week here at readjack, and a few projects were pushed to the back of the line as a result. One of those was my Bears-Packers preview with Tony the Packers Fan. Fortunately, between interviews, CD release parties, FBI protests, singer/songwriter debuts, and the actual god damn game, I was able to send Tony a prompt, and he was able to respond:

JACK: Five years ago, you phoned me upon Green Bay’s selection of Aaron Rodgers and taunted me with the reminder that “We just got our Favre replacement. Enjoy the next ten years,” or something. Your and your fellow Pack fan’s personal feelings toward Favre notwithstanding, describe for me, if you will, the mental/emotional experience of following/rooting for/watching a team quarterbacked by Aaron Rodgers as opposed to one quarterbacked by Brett Favre. Do you trust Rodgers as much as you once trusted Favre? Do you simultaneously fear his sudden mistakes more/less than you did Favre’s? Gimme the scoop magoo.

TONY: No, I do not yet have the trust in Rodgers that I had in Favre. Rodgers hasn’t led too many come backs. If I’m not mistaken, I think he’s only had three. And two of them were against the Lions. He has not gained my full trust yet, but I have very little doubt in him. Everyone says that the Packers are gonna represent the NFC in the Super Bowl. Rodgers hasn’t won a playoff game yet. He hasn’t even won our division yet.

As for tonight’s game… Both of us are sitting at 2-0. We played an easy team at home last week. You guys barely beat the Lions. You made adjustments against Dallas. Cutler got some time, and the Mike Martz offense was clicking. We held on against Philly and won a game there for the first time since 1962. No matter what the records are, I’d go into any Packers/Bears game expecting to win. Tonight, it’s not going to be easy. Your offense is starting to take form, and other than a juiced up Clay Matthews, our defense is not as good as it was last year. With Ryan Grant out, we are pretty one dimensional on offense.

Still, I like our chances. It’s going to be a back and forth game. It may come down to who has the ball last. If it was 2005, I’d be hoping the guy to run the 2 minute drill would be Favre. But in 2010, I’d rather have Rodgers be that guy. More than Favre, and more than Cutler.

Leave a Reply

