Quiz me.

Time to Settle Accounts

July 9, 2011: Quiz me.

“You ever go on sporcle?” I ask Ricky and G at headquarters yesterday.

“What’s that?” Ricky asks.

“Quiz site. Big time-waster, but kind of useful also. I’m hooked right now on this quiz of the top 300 scorers in NBA history. I can do about 210.”

“That sounds like the time waster part.”

“Oh yeah,” I said, “but I also love this countries one,” and off I went into it.

“What’s that?”

I turned my computer around to show them. “It’s a quiz of countries of the world. To see how many you can name. Half way done with Africa already.”

“How did you learn that?” Ricky asks when I show him the country names flying to their respective shapes.

“Just kept doing the quiz,” I said.

The internet was down at G’s, and so we were working in his bedroom, taking the free connection from a pizza place down the block. I was done with any work that required the internet, and was now cruising through the countries quiz. I did it two days earlier, missing only Serbia and Montenegro.

“Done with the Americas,” I said, “and still perfect.”

“Whoa.”

Next up was Europe, with all of those small countries in the eastern part of the continent, and then Asia and its Stans, and then southeast Asia, and then Australia, New Zealand, and a ton of countries I did not know existed until I’d started the quiz. Nauru, Tonga, Tuvalu, Kiribati, Vanuatu… 191 of 196, 192, 193, 194, 195…

“Shit.”

“What?”

“I missed one. I’ve got 195 of 196.”

“Damn,” Ricky says when I show them the screen, now filled with red names.

“Must have been somewhere in Europe, or perhaps one of these little joints around Australia,” I say, and I click on the ‘Give up?’ button to see which one I’ve missed.

“So?” Ricky asks.

“What the fuck?” I say.

“What?”

“South Sudan?”

“There’s a South Sudan?”

I flip to Sudan’s wikipedia page. “Well what do you know? As of – whoa! – as of tomorrow morning, South Sudan is an independent nation.”

“And it’s already on sporcle?”

“Guess so.”

“Helluva site.”

NEXT: Rest up. (7.11.11)

PREVIOUS: State of the union. (7.4.11)

3 Replies to “Quiz me.”

Leave a Reply

