Fucking bullshit.

Time to Settle Accounts

December 9, 2011: Fucking bullshit.

My phone rang at 7 a.m., as expected. It was Kristin – I’d texted her last night just before I went to bed requesting a 7 a.m. wake-up call.

“It doesn’t sound like you’re up,” she said.

“I’m not. But I’m awake.”

“So this is all I need to do?”

“Yea. We’ll talk again when I’m up.”

“When you’re up.”

“Yea.”

“Alrighty…” she said in that way of hers, and hung up.

The air was cold in my room. Colder than usual. There is a window next to my bed that does not quite shut, and since we have not yet winterized our windows, I’m used to the outdoors seeping in. During the autumn, I enjoy the contrast between the warmth of my blankets and the chill around my head. It makes for a wake-up motivator…

Still, I thought, this air is unusually cold, even for my room. I fell back asleep and when I woke and checked my phone it was 8:30. I muttered something, but then I shook off that mood and reminded myself of all of the wonderful opportunities I had packed into the day, and with that I stood and stretched and pushed my door open and looked out my front desk window and there it was: snow. Everywhere. The world’s worst blanket. A regular reminder that my brother is in Los Angeles and that while I may be succeeding here in my hometown, his new hometown is not covered in snow.

I turned and saw Justin moving swiftly around the apartment, tidying up cups and glasses and accumulated floor dust. “Justin, did you see it?”

“What?”

“Snow man.” I shook my head. “There’s snow on the ground.”

“Yea,” he said, and he turned his computer on, sat down at his desk, sipped his coffee, and started his work.

NEXT: Art’s fine. (12.17.11)

PREVIOUS: Exchanging glances. (12.06.11)

5 Replies to “Fucking bullshit.”

  1. My experience started with someone posting on facebook how they just wrote their name with pee outside. I put two and two together, ran outside to discover it had snowed and wrote my name in it with my finger. Only because I had peed before reading the post.

  2. Okay, the hilarity of that story makes me feel almost a bit better that there’s fucking snow on the ground. And, admittedly, it’s almost NO snow, and it will probably be gone by the weekend, and it’s not snowing now, and it’s December 9 in Chicago and we’re only now getting snow. But damn, I loathe it.

Leave a Reply

